Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Florida Carry Permit Events
 
 
 
The Florida Carry Permit Road Show (FCPRS) is a service provided by the Association of New Jersey Rifle and Pistol Clubs (ANJRPC) and is open to anyone interested in obtaining a Florida Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permit. You do NOT have to be a member of ANJRPC or any other organization to take advantage of this service.
 

These events are being held to assist law-abiding gun owners in applying for a Florida Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permit. No, you CAN NOT carry a concealed firearm in New Jersey if you have this permit and don't you dare try. However, the permit is valid in Florida and, at the present time, Florida has reciprocity agreements with 26 other states to honor their permit. (Actually, they have agreements with 31 other states but 5 of them only honor permits held by Florida residents and not non-residents) Those 26 other states are (as of 11/13/07):

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wyoming.

Florida keeps an updated reciprocity list on their web site so go there to verify the list before you go traveling off with your pistol in your belt. For an overview of the entire Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm Program, click here.

The permit will cost you $117 plus we charge an additional $25 to pay for costs of this program. The total cost to you is $142 and the permit you receive is good for 7 years.

We plan on running a continuing series of these events on a regular basis at different locations throughout the state. We intend to visit every part of the state to keep it convenient for all of you and once we have covered the entire state we may start the cycle all over again if the demand remains.

Attendance at these events will be BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. We have learned from experience that we can only process a limited number of people per hour and we don't want you waiting around for over five hours only to learn we won't be able to process you that day. We will keep an updated list of scheduled dates and locations posted on the web with a number to call to make a reservation for that event.

Click on the Eligibility link to view the requirements you need to meet to qualify to apply for a Florida Concealed Carry Permit. Then, if you qualify, click on the Schedule link to see the available locations and dates and the number to call to receive a reservation. Also consult the What to Bring link for a checklist of what to bring with you to the event and click on What you will do for a description of how the process works. Please note; you do NOT have to be a member of ANJRPC or the NRA or any other organization to apply for this permit. (Although, I would ask that you consider that membership numbers are what impress the politicians when we appear before them in Trenton and Washington to defend your personal freedoms. Membership numbers really do matter and are a really painless, and anonymous, thing for you to do.)

Address Change

If you have changed your address since you first applied for your Florida carry permit you need to notify them in writing of that change. You have the option of doing it by mail or online. Click on the Address Change link for instructions.
 
 
 
To be eligible to apply for a Florida Carry Permit you must meet the following requirements:
  • Be 21 years of age or older

  • Be a U.S. citizen or a permanent legal resident alien with supporting documentation

  • Received firearms training

  • Do not have a disqualifying condition

  • Desire a concealed carry permit for the purpose of lawful self-defense

Acceptable Firearms Training Documentation includes the following (You only need one of these):

  • A notarized statement or document from a club, organization, school training facility or certified instructor showing that the individual has completed a course or class or is an experienced competitor. (The instructor must have observed you safely handling and discharging a firearm.)

  • A photocopy of your military honorable discharge document or a photocopy of your DD-214.

  • A photocopy of a certificate bearing the name of the organization, school or facility who sponsored the course or class and the instructors name and category of certification (NRA, State, etc.) The instructors name and certification must be clearly legible.

  • A photocopy of your NRA competitors classification card or similar document.

  • A photocopy of a firearms instructors certification card or certificate.

  • A photocopy of any NRA firearms training certificate.

  • A photocopy of a certificate or card showing completion of a hunter education or safety course approved by the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission or an similar agency of another state.

  • A photocopy of a license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm issued in Florida.

  • The license number and signature of the firearms instructor must appear on the training certificate.

Photocopies of documentation MUST clearly show the individual's name and all signatures, etc. Dark or light copies which do not clearly show pertinent information cannot be accepted. DO NOT SEND ORIGINALS -- THEY CANNOT BE RETURNED.

For further details on eligibility check the Florida Concealed Firearm Program Eligibility page.

 
 
For answers to any questions regarding eligibility or to be put on a waiting list for future events call:
 

Stephen Potts at (973) 903-6236.

If you get my voice mail leave a message. If you are asking to be added to the waiting list I will add you to the list and call you when an event is being scheduled (not in reply to your request to be listed). If you are calling with a specific question regarding eligibility then I WILL get back to you within a day or two. (Usually within an hour or two but I'm hedging just in case I'm away on a trip.)

I am a volunteer and do this on a time available basis fitting this in between my job and personal responsibilities. I simply don't have time to reply to everyone's call to be put on the list. I generally do not return calls left on my voice mail to be put on the list. I just put you on the list and when an event is being scheduled I go through the list then and call everyone on it.
 
 
You will need to bring the following items with you to the Road Show:
  1. A government issued photo ID. (Typically a NJ photo drivers license, a passport, or a military ID. Remember, it must be government issued, your company ID is no good.)
  2. A photocopy of your proof of firearms training. (Check the eligibility link to make sure what you have is acceptable. Make sure you bring a legible photocopy - whatever you bring will NOT be returned to you, so make sure it is a COPY.)
  3. Bring your face, we need to take a picture of it. (Seems obvious, right? Well, make sure your appearance is such as you wish it immortalized upon your carry permit.)
  4. Bring your fingers, we will get ink on them.
  5. Bring your checkbook. (We will have a rubber stamp for the long name of the Florida department that does the processing so you don't have to practice micro-printing to fit the name on your check.)

Fees:

  1. Florida charges $117 to process your application. ($75 for the License Fee and $42 to process the fingerprints through the background check. The license is good for 7 years.)

  2. We charge an additional $25 to pay the Law Enforcement Officers, Notaries, pay expenses like film for the camera, and other supplies, and to buy lunch so we don't expire before the afternoon sessions are completed.

Total Cost to you is $142.
 
 
The process will go like this:
  1. You MUST arrive by your appointed time. Latecomers will be turned away. We are processing folks in batches and inserting latecomers into the next batch will delay all subsequent batches. So DON'T BE LATE!

  2. When you arrive you will check in with reception. They will verify your appointment and check that you have the required ID and photocopies of eligible proof of training. They will collect the $25 processing fee and assure you have a blank check to fill out for the State of Florida later in the process.

  3. The entire group of applicants will receive the application package and will be instructed on how to fill out the application and fingerprint card on an item by item basis. Hey, they're government forms and if you don't use the right codes and exactly the expected responses, Florida will reject your application. Do not go ahead of the instructor in filling out these forms! They even specify which color ink you are required to use. Do not sign the forms, that is done in front of a notary at the end of the process. You will also make out your check to Florida and put your return address on the mailing envelope during the step of the process.

  4. You will then be photographed. Make sure your appearance is as you wish it to appear on your permit. You will be required to PRINT your full name and date of birth on the back of the photograph.

  5. You will then be fingerprinted by a law enforcement officer.

  6. Your entire package will be checked to assure everything is correct.

  7. A notary will witness your signature and your package will be sealed for mailing to Florida. We mail all the applications together in bulk as we were promised priority handling by Florida if we do it that way.

And that's it. At this point you are done and can go home. Your permit will arrive in something under 90 days. (Sooner if Florida honors it's promise of expedited handling.)

 
 
Below is a statement from the Pennsylvania Attorney General's office regarding the validity of non-resident carry permits as they apply to reciprocity agreements with other states.
 

"It has come to the attention of the Office of Attorney General that there has been confusion over the applicability of Pennsylvania's reciprocal privileges with regard to the residency status of an individual who has been issued a valid license/permit. It is the position of the Office of Attorney General that recognition within Pennsylvania is based on the issuance to an individual of a valid license/permit by the reciprocal contracting state, and not on the license/permit holder's place of residence."

For further information consult the Pennsylvania Attorney General's web site.
 
 

Florida statute 790.06(8) requires you to notify the Division of Licensing in writing within 30 days after your address changes. You may continue to carry your current license. If, however, you would like a revised license reflecting the new address, please submit $15 paid by check or money order made payable to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and a 'passport-type' color photograph with your written notification.

OR, you can notify the Division of Licensing by filling out the Online Address Change form found here. You won't get a new license with your new address on it if you do the online address change, but you will be in compliance with the requirement to keep a current address with the Division of Licensing and your existing license will continue to be valid.

 
 
Community Search
Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Dedicated to responsible firearms ownership and use since 1934
Privacy Statement/Legal Notices
Please send comments on this website to Webmaster@anjrpc.org